ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format:  West Indies and USA to co-host


ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format: West Indies and USA to co-host – Experience fresh match-ups and historic moments at the revamped 2024 edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. With more teams and an exciting new format, this tournament is set to make waves.

Expect ground-breaking action in the USA as they host their first-ever global event alongside the West Indies. The 2024 tournament will feature a 20-team competition, divided into two phases before the knockout stage. Get ready for a unique framework different from the previous editions.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format: West Indies and USA to co-host

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format: West Indies and USA to co-host – Get ready for an exhilarating showdown in the West Indies and USA as the upcoming T20 World Cup shakes things up. In a departure from the past two editions, the 2024 tournament will introduce a fresh and dynamic format. This time, the 20 participating teams will be split into four groups of five teams each, creating a frenzy of fierce competition from the very beginning.

After battling it out in the group stage, only the top two teams from each group will move on to the high-stakes Super Eight phase. Here, they will face off in two groups of four, fighting tooth and nail for a spot in the semi-finals.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format  West Indies and USA to co-host

In the previous two editions, the first round consisted of two groups. These groups included teams that qualified through a special pathway and teams that finished ninth to twelfth in the previous tournament. The top two teams from each group emerged victorious and advanced to the Super 12 stage alongside the eight already qualified teams.


ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format: West Indies and USA to co-host – Embark on an exciting journey as the USA takes the stage for the first time, having secured their spot as hosts. Witness the triumphant return of the West Indies, reclaiming their place on the main stage after missing out on the Super 12 stage in Australia.

England, Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and South Africa have already secured their places.

The Netherlands stuns South Africa, securing a spot alongside Sri Lanka as the top fourth-placed team. Meanwhile, Afghanistan and Bangladesh earned automatic qualification, completing the lineup of the 12 teams in the tournament.

The final eight spots in the competition will be up for grabs in epic regional qualifier events. Africa, Asia, and Europe will each send two teams, while the Americas, East Asia, and Pacific regions will each have one team representing them. Who will emerge victorious and secure their spot in the main event?

66 teams battle it out for just eight coveted spots. With representation from Africa, the Americas, Asia, EAP, and Europe, the stakes are high. Hungary, Romania, and Serbia are making their debut, while Ireland, Scotland, and Wales are determined to secure their place through the regional qualifiers.

RegionQualifying Spots
East Asia-PacificOne

“Qualifying as hosts alongside the West Indies, the tournament will be ground-breaking for the USA, hosting their first global event,” the ICC said.

“As hosts, the West Indies and the USA take up the first two spots for 2024. From there, performances at the 2022 edition, and the ICC T20I rankings cut-off on November 14, determined the next 10 teams.”

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Format:  West Indies and USA to co-host

TeamPath of Qualification
West IndiesHosts
Australia2022 T20WC top eight finish
England2022 T20WC top eight finish
India2022 T20WC top eight finish
Netherlands2022 T20WC top eight finish
New Zealand2022 T20WC top eight finish
Pakistan2022 T20WC top eight finish
South Africa2022 T20WC top eight finish
Sri Lanka2022 T20WC top eight finish
AfghanistanNext best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off
BangladeshNext best on T20I rankings at Nov 14 cut-off